Saturday, February 28, 2009

Practice match - Matt Ray, you've still got a ways to go....



So I wanted to start with a brief explanation of the blog title. My good friends John and Tim watch a Japanese cartoon pictured here about a young man who plays a lot of tennis. The name of the show - "The Prince of Tennis". Hence, in true English fashion, I inherited the name - POT due to my incessant playing of the game.

Another quick note, the idea behind the blog was to write some notes about how I played in my matches to help coach Ed to offer some advice on how I can improve my match play. I will post some pics as and when I can but for now, I will be writing things as I recall. Feel free to correct me if I make some errors on the way.

So, onto today's match. We played at 4pm at SF State, court #4 I believe. I had just come from a lesson - working on movement to strike, trying to keep the ball in the correct strike zone and not letting it get on to me. We tried a number of drills and this was my main aim to bring to the match.

Matt won the toss and elected to serve. A fairly comfortable start with a hold. 1-0. I began serving and immediately got myself into some trouble. Matt was hitting the ball well after playing Ed in the morning. 2-0, not a good start for Paul.

Third game was another hold, although I started to get some feeling on a few balls - but still hitting a few too many errors. Matt was up 3-0. The fourth game was little better - I was feeling a little better about my ground strokes and hitting through the ball a little better. The first hold for the match was reassuring.

Matt held for 4-1. The next game I started to find my range - hitting some good angles, and eventually getting through the game. 4-2. I then started to put some pressure on the Matt Ray serve - getting some balls back deep on the return and benefited from an untimely double fault. 4-3. I started feel a little more confident and fired off a couple a games taking a another break. I was now serving for the set at 5-4.

A loose game as I started to think about the score. I was down 15-40 before I knew and Matt soon got back in the set. Still thinking about the missed opportunity I found myself serving to save the set at 5-6. I played another weak game and lost the opening set 7-5.

I came out for second set determined to play more aggressive. I was thinking about watching the ball on the strings and hitting the ball out front. I had a couple of good returns and quickly broke to start the second. I held serve for a 2-0 lead then Matt held for 2-1. The next 3 games went on serve. Matt was serving at 2-4 and again I was trying to apply some pressure with the return. I managed to get the break and then serve out for a 6-2 set.

With light fading, we headed into a third set. The first couple of game went by in a blur. I was trying to mix up the serves -hitting some good angles on the add side and making a couple of volleys. I bagged a couple of over heads - silly shots into the net but they were pretty good lobs - forcing me back and hitting the ball while back pedalling. We had some good rallies int he third set and plenty of winners on both sides. I was really trying to focus on the ball and not think about score even though I manged to get up a break.

I faced a break point when serving 4-2 but managed to scrape through. With Matt serving at 2-5 I was again putting pressure on the serve. A double fault came again and I managed to close out the set 6-2.

A decent win 5-7, 6-2, 6-2 which made up for a dismal show last week losing in 3 sets to both Matt and Ed.

Not so bad mentally today with only a few brain cramps and mutterings to that nut job I have in my head at times.

Here's hoping for no rain tomorrow....

Saturday, February 21, 2009

Backhand - Point of Contact

Not a bad picture, shame I'm not looking at the ball.

Forehand - Point of Contact

Tracking the ball initially but losing it before point of contact.



Volley

Bail out or bad technique (or both)?
or maybe this was a drop shot attempt?


Serve

Not enough wrist snap. What else??








Lazy Footwork

Title says it all but check out the last step before contact.







Forehand

No weight transfer through the ball.




Tip Toe Backhand

Footwork to backhand seems ok. But, I stand up to hit the ball instead of driving through it. (notice the wrist break again)





Backhand - Wrist Break

Early preparation into backhand. Loopy take back. Weight transfer seems ok. Hitting through the ball. But, look at the wrist break at the end.






Backhand - Slice

Bail out shot! Decided not to hit over the ball but instead went for a slice. Didn't hit through the ball. Nice easy floater.



Practice match against Matt Ray

Check out these pics from last Saturday - I have collected the images in sequence based on a stroke (or lack there of) that I'm trying to execute.